Our Team

At Thorne Widgery we’ve a great team of experts dedicated to getting you the numbers you need to help your business grow. So you can put a face to the name, the team members you’re most likely to have as one of your first points of contact are shown below:

 

Stephen Smallwood

Managing Director

Stephen’s ambition is to make accountancy more accessible to all by providing straightforward advice and a comprehensive service offering. His vision is the driving force behind the firm’s creative approach and he continues to implement new initiatives that enhance and support his clients’ business growth.

stephen.smallwood@thornewidgery.co.uk


Andy Edwards

ACIB
Commercial Director

Prior to TW Andy spent 25 years with Barclays as a Business Manager where he advised owner managed businesses from ‘one man bands’ to multi-million pound turnover companies. It’s this wealth of experience that makes him a creative problem solver and the natural choice to help our clients prepare for bank meetings, requests for finance and with the production of cash flow and profit forecasts.

andy.edwards@thornewidgery.co.uk


Kevin Tong

FCCA, ACA
Director

Kevin has a wealth of experience providing financial business advice to companies and individual clients, mainly working in the Agricultural, Charity and Education sectors. Kevin aims to see his clients prosper through maximising their tax benefits, strong financial planning and making the most of business opportunities.

kevin.tong@thornewidgery.co.uk


Martin Davies

Director

Martin has been with the Company for over 25 years, providing effective accounting and tax advice to clients in the corporate sector and taking care of their statutory and compliance requirements. As a Director, he is also a valuable member of the Senior Management Team.

martin.davies@thornewidgery.co.uk


Daniel Crowther

FCCA, ACA, MAAT
Director

Dan joined TW in 2001 and his primary role is to deliver an outstanding service to his varied portfolio of commercial clients. This includes being truely pro-active and solving problems before they even become one. Effective tax planning and advice are a huge part of this.

daniel.crowther@thornewidgery.co.uk


Vanda Williams

BSc, ACA, CTA
Director of Tax

Vanda joined TW over 30 years ago and has acquired a great deal of knowledge during her time heading up the Tax Department. Being an expert on trust and estate matters, Vanda gives respected advice on often complex personal financial affairs or those with investible assets and is a trusted source of advice for many of our long standing clients.

vanda.williams@thornewidgery.co.uk


Megan Smith

Tax Manager

Megan has over 25 years experience in tax accountancy, moving to TW from Baker Tilly in 2014. She deals with the tax aspects of a varied client portfolio.

megan.smith@thornewidgery.co.uk


Jan Stephens

Administration Assistant

Jan works closely with the Tax Department for all their administration requirements and manages all the tax books in progress. As Events Co-Ordinator she always ensures everything is ready to a high standard for all TW seminars and conferences.

jan.stephens@thornewidgery.co.uk


Paul Turner

BA (Hons) DipIP PFA
Independant Financial Advisor

Paul is our in-house Truly Independent Financial Advisor. Bringing a wealth of knowledge and experience spanning over 25 years, he advises both personal and corporate clients on matters such as pensions, life assurance, investments, Inheritance Tax planning as well as business and shareholder protection.

paul.turner@thornewidgery.co.uk


Tony Peckham

ACIB
Estate Planning Consultant

With his lengthy background in banking and legal services Tony is the man to talk to about Estate Planning and Inheritance Tax issues in order to protect your hard earned assets for future generations and for provision of Lasting Powers of Attorney.

tony.peckham@thornewidgery.co.uk


Lisa Weaver

FCCA
Head of Audit and Assurance

Lisa joined the team as Audits and Accounts Manager in 2012 and has over 20 years of accounting experience. With an in-depth knowledge of the charities, education and other non-profit industries, she is particularly involved in developing our services to meet the needs of clients in these sectors.

lisa.weaver@thornewidgery.co.uk


Francesca Watkins

MAAT ACCA
Audit and Accounts Manager

Francesca joined TW in 2011 and fully qualified as an accountant in 2012. Her role within the Company now focuses on management of some of the firms audit clients, including Charities, Academies and Companies, as well as assisting the Accounts Department and training junior members of the team. She works closely with TW’s Head of Audit, Lisa Weaver and assists Martin Davies with his Corporate portfolio.

francesca.watkins@thornewidgery.co.uk


Amy Barnstable

MAAT ACA
Accounts and Audit Manager

Amy joined TW in 2015 having previously worked for a large national accountancy firm for eight years, in both their Hereford and Birmingham offices. She has significant experience within the ‘not for profit’ as well as the corporate sector. Her specialisms are most notably charitable organisations, academies and colleges.

amy.barnstable@thornewidgery.co.uk


Rebecca Matthews

ACCA MAAT
Audit and Accounts Manager

Rebecca joined TW in 2010 as an HGTA accounts apprentice, having since gained her AAT and ACCA qualifications. Her role within TW now concentrates on audits of Charities, Companies and Academies in addition to preparation of client accounts. She also work closely with Lisa, Head of Audit, in managing the charity independent examination clients.

rebecca.matthews@thornewidgery.co.uk


Sarah Sparey

BA (Hons) MAAT ACCA
Agricultural Client Manager

Sarah joined TW in 2010 after moving from the banking sector and is both AAT and ACCA qualified. As Agricultural Client Manager she uses her farming background to look after a number of agricultural clients and is also involved in audits in both the charity and corporate sectors.

sarah.sparey@thornewidgery.co.uk


Sam King

MAAT ACCA
Head of Xero & Xero for Education

Sam joined the team in 2013 and is our Xero accounting software expert, overseeing training with clients on the Xero system, together with responsibility for internal training. Sam is a full ACCA and AAT member. Sam is always looking for opportunities where new technologies and innovations can assist the practice and our clients.

sam.king@thornewidgery.co.uk


Wendy Pullen

MAAT ACCA
Accounts Senior

Wendy joined TW after 25 years at Baker Tilly. She brings invaluable experience in preparing accounts for sole traders, partnerships, small limited companies and charity accounts to the team.

wendy.pullen@thornewidgery.co.uk


Elizabeth Roberts

MAAT ACCA
Accounts Manager

Lizzie joined us in 2010, progressing through the TW Apprentice Scheme to gain full qualification. She works alongside Dan Crowther assisting him with the management of his client base.

elizabeth.roberts@thornewidgery.co.uk


Jarrett Hawkins

MAAT
Accounts Senior

Jarrett joined TW in 2011 and has since completed his AAT qualification and is currently working towards ACCA. His role within the company involves preparing client accounts and assisting Martin Davies with his corporate portfolio. He is also heavily involved in advising clients on how Xero can improve efficiency within their business.

jarrett.hawkins@thornewidgery.co.uk


Katie Davies

BSc (Hons) AAT
Accounts Technician and Bookkeeper

After 10 years in the leisure and retail industry, Katie brings her wealth of customer service experience to her role supporting accounts production, bookkeeping and VAT jobs. At TW she’s relishing working with a wide range of businesses and being part of a big team.

katie.davies@thornewidgery.co.uk


Penny Griffiths

AAT
Accounts Technician

Penny is a long serving member of the company who provides support for our accounting team. Day to day Penny is responsible for processing client accounts and VAT returns as well as handling general client enquiries.

penny.griffiths@thornewidgery.co.uk


Hannah Ayres

Audit and Accounts Senior

Hannah joined TW in 2013 as a HGTA apprentice and is now working towards ACCA. Her role within the company involves preparing client accounts and VAT returns mainly in the agriculture sector as well as supporting the audit team. Hannah is also involved in the development of less experienced members of the team.

hannah.ayres@thornewidgery.co.uk


Charlotte Toon

MAAT
Accounts Technician

Charlotte joined TW in 2015 after 5yrs at Santander. She loves working with numbers but found long-term, banking wasn’t offering the career opportunities she was looking for particularly in auditing. Having successfully passed Level 4 AAT, Charlotte has commenced ACCA studies & looks forward to passing on her knowledge & experience to other new apprentices.

charlotte.toon@thornewidgery.co.uk


Laura McCarthy

MAAT
Accounts Technician

Laura has been at TW for 3 years now. She started a degree at Nottingham University but having enjoyed maths at A level, decided an apprenticeship would be a better route to achieve her goal of becoming an accountant. Although joining with no previous accountancy knowledge she’s enjoyed all the challenges of being on a steep learning curve. Laura’s successfully passed her AAT Qualification and is now studying ACCA at Newport University. She’s really appreciated the support of working in a large team & being able to develop her skill base. Laura aims to work through her qualifications inspiring other new apprentices on the way.

laura.mccarthy@thornewidgery.co.uk


Steffen Cunningham

Accounts Trainee

Steffen joined in the summer of 2015. He is currently in his final year of AAT. Having worked in the accounts department, and in Audit, Steffen saw the growing potential of Xero, and how it can be applied to academies. He now currently works alongside Sam King, doing conversions to Xero, training sessions, support, and exploring new ways of innovating the system.

steffen.cunningham@thornewidgery.co.uk


Elaine Hussey

Payroll Client Manager

Elaine joined the company in 2006 and is responsible, with Angela, for coordinating our clients’ payroll on a weekly, fortnightly and monthly basis, as well as processing their year-end paperwork. She is also the first point of contact for all payroll related queries.

elaine.hussey@thornewidgery.co.uk


Janet Brimfield

Head of Reception and PA to Stephen Smallwood

With her vast experience in customer care Janet’s the perfect candidate to ensure the smooth running of reception and to manage Stephen! She co-ordinates a fantastic team that work well to ensure all at TW have the background support they need.

janet.brimfield@thornewidgery.co.uk


Paul Beechey

Production Manager

Paul joined TW after a 25 year career in the motor industry. With the help of Xero Practice Manager he manages the smooth running of TW’s production team, ensuring all jobs get done efficiently, effectively and on time. He oversees the processing of incoming records and the TW archive system in addition to dealing with health and safety issues and liaising with any contractors working on site.

paul.beechey@thornewidgery.co.uk


Francesca Taylor

Administration Assistant

Francesca divides her time at TW between overseeing all incoming client records and providing invaluable support to the reception team.

francesca.taylor@thornewidgery.co.uk



Diane Sheldon

Sales & Marketing Manager

In this role with TW, Diane is able to consolidate and develop on her experiences gained in a variety of organisations where she coordinated and specialised in Sales Management, Event organisation, Client Relationship Management and Business Development. She is now bringing these skills together to be able to deliver TW’s and Stephen Smallwoods vision.

diane.sheldon@thornewidgery.co.uk


Oksana Koleva

MAAT
Audit and Accounts Senior

Prior to joining TW in 2017, Oksana was working as a senior accountant for small practice in Gloucestershire. AAT qualified and Part qualified ACCA with one exam remaining to take. Working and enhancing skills within the audit team.

oksana.koleva@thornewidgery.co.uk


Sioned Price

BA (Hons)
Accounts Trainee

Joined TW in 2017 after working at another Herefordshire practice and currently studying towards ACCA qualification. Involved with accounts preparation, VAT, Confirmation statements and pension audits. Enjoying working in a large supportive team.

sioned.price@thornewidgery.co.uk


Harvey Lewis

Accounts Trainee

Joined in August 2016 after leaving Ayelstone School, where Harvey enjoyed Maths and IT. Studying AAT in conjunction with HWGTA Apprenticeship

harvey.lewis@thornewidgery.co.uk


Julie Skinner

Tax Assistant

Julie gained over 10 years’ experience in personal tax whilst working within the investment division of a large firm of Solicitors in the South East.  She joined TW to return to tax around a year ago following a break to bring up her Son.  Previously she has run a family owned villa rental business.  Julie works primarily in personal tax but also assists with the preparation of trust accounts and returns.

julie.skinner@thornewidgery.co.uk


Angela Warren

Payroll Clerk

Angela joined Thorne Widgery in 2016 bringing with her many years experience within payroll. She works alongside Elaine and assists clients in particular our education clients, with all of their payroll needs including regular submissions to HMRC together with pension and BACS processing.

angela.warren@thornewidgery.co.uk


Hollie Moore

BA (Hons)
Accounts Trainee

Hollie joined TW after completing an Accounting Degree, now continuing studies with ACCA working alongside Dan and Lizzie.

hollie.moore@thornewidgery.co.uk


Katy Singleton

BA (Hons)
Accounts Trainee

Katy joined TW after completing an Economics Degree at Swansea University, deciding to pursue accounting as her chosen career path. She continues to study with ACCA in Newport while working within the Audit team while in the office. Her role includes visiting clients onsite to carry out audit work, preparing accounts for clients and completing VAT returns.

katy.singleton@thornewidgery.co.uk


Kylie Toms

Sales and Marketing Assistant

Kylie recently joined TW, previously working in a clinical environment making her ideal as one of our first aiders. Kylie has brought strong organisational skills and an outgoing personality to help drive business forward, with XPM by her side! Kylie mainly deals with new clients helping ensure they have a smooth introduction to TW.

kylie.toms@thornewidgery.co.uk